There’s a Bug Going Around Town…


So, clean up your nasty rental properties and pay your debt,

choose your tenants wisely and the roach’ll be no threat.

Taking “A Bite” Out of Slumlording in Pottstown for the Past Year
HAPPY ANNIVERSARY GOLDEN COCKROACH

The Ballad Of The Landlord by Langston Hughes

James Langston Hughes [1902-1967] was born in Joplin, Missouri, USA, the great-great-grandson of Charles Henry Langston (brother of John Mercer Langston, the first Black American to be elected to public office).
From THE LANGSTON HUGHES READER, p. 101, © 1957.
This poem by Langston Hughes grew out of conditions in New York City’s Harlem in the 1930’s. In graphic terms it describes the escalation of anger and frustration that tenants experienced trying to get landlords to make basic repairs. It is structured like an old time blues song until the final verse where the rhythm changes

user img

Landlord, landlord,
My roof has sprung a leak.
Don’t you ‘member I told you about it
Way last week?Landlord, landlord,
These steps is broken down.
When you come up yourself
It’s a wonder you don’t fall down.Ten Bucks you say I owe you?
Ten Bucks you say is due?
Well, that’s Ten Bucks more’n I’l pay you
Till you fix this house up new.What? You gonna get eviction orders?
You gonna cut off my heat?
You gonna take my furniture and
Throw it in the street?Um-huh! You talking high and mighty.
Talk on-till you get through.
You ain’t gonna be able to say a word
If I land my fist on you.

Police! Police!
Come and get this man!
He’s trying to ruin the government
And overturn the land!

Copper’s whistle!
Patrol bell!
Arrest.
Precinct Station.
Iron cell.
Headlines in press:
MAN THREATENS LANDLORD
TENANT HELD NO BAIL
JUDGE GIVES NEGRO 90 DAYS IN COUNTY JAIL!

Cockroach Blog Stats:
24,617 views all-time
Busiest Day:  2,228 July 26,2012
237 Followers
Most Popular Topics:
Debra Campbell, Joshua Owheya, Section 8, Borough of Pottstown
THANK YOU COCKROACH FANS, ONE AND ALL !!!  EVERYONE WHO HAS CONTACTED ME FOR GUIDANCE AND COMMENTED ON THIS BLOG < MERCI BEAUCOUP >  
Benjamin Disraeli said it best:
“I feel a very unusual sensation – if it is not indigestion, I think it must be gratitude.” 
I resemble that remark!  

 

2 responses to “There’s a Bug Going Around Town…

  1. Please let me extend you a “Happy Anniversary” from myself and on behalf of others, like myself, living near slum properties.

    What a horrible thing to have needed your services (no offense) within the first 2 years of my living in this town.

    I never knew such a site existed. Thankfully, you gave the site a catchy name and a quick search brought me here.

    I look forward to this initiative gaining momentum and producing change (for the better, of course!!) in the nearest future. Cheers!

What Do You Think?

